Simple Pleasure

Sometime ago, she wrote:

I have made peace with myself.

You are part of the joy of my life.

To deprive myself of this joy violates my right to care for myself.

You are among the few luxuries in my life.

I do not die when I do not see you,

but I lose a moment of beauty and bliss

when I resist the temptation to indulge myself in being here.

Today I embrace myself,

care for myself, love myself.

Today I give in to the pleasure of having

this tiny bit of your world,

the one I can only have—

the seconds-long glimpses of you,

the inconsequential and few counts of smiles,

random exchange of words.

Yes, this simple pleasure is enough for me to live on.  

Leave a Reply

